Main Funding

Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop is a registered charity. We provide direct funding to artists to allow them time and space to develop projects, test ideas and produce and show work. We subsidise the cost of studios and workspaces so that access to our facilities remains affordable for artists as they build their careers.

Activities which will benefit our local community and the arts sector, such as talks and exhibitions and the schools programme are offered free of charge to ensure that no one is excluded from participating.

We receive funding each year from Creative Scotland and the City of Edinburgh Council towards our programme and running costs. Around 30% of our annual revenue is from earned income but we rely on additional financial and in-kind support each year from funders, businesses and individual donors towards our programme, running costs and for major projects.

New Buildings

Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop has raised public and private investment of over £6.5M to create its inspiring new buildings.

New Buildings

The Creative Laboratories

This project, begun in 2009, was fully funded by The Arts Funding Prize for Edinburgh administered by Foundation Scotland. A £3M philanthropic gift, the prize was awarded through a competition for a cultural building of architectural excellence which was open to all arts organisations in the city.

Funders of the Bill Scott Sculpture Centre

The Bill Scott Sculpture Centre opened in 2012 following a major capital campaign which brought in funds from trusts and foundations, donations from individuals and funding and in kind support from the City of Edinburgh Council. The largest grant came through the Creative Scotland National Lottery Awards.


Grants & Public Funders

Creative Scotland
Creative Scotland National Lottery Awards
City of Edinburgh Council

Trusts & Foundations of the ESW Capital Development, completed in 2012

  • Baillie Gifford
    Barcapel Foundation
    Biffa Award
    Binks Trust
    Community Energy Scotland
    Dunard Fund
    Edinburgh College
    The Edward Marshall Trust
    The Foyle Foundation
    The Gannochy Trust
    The Henry Moore Foundation
    The Hope Scott Trust
    The MacRobert Trust
    Morton Fraser Charitable Trust
    The Mushroom Trust
    The Paolozzi Foundation
    P F Charitable Trust
    Reed Foundation
    The Robertson Trust
    A E H Salvesen’s Charitable Trust
    ScottishPower Green Energy Trust
    Social Investment Scotland
    The Stevenston Charitable Trust

Corporate Supporters of the ESW Capital Development, completed in 2012

  • Alisdair Kettles Pottery Supplies
    Arts & Business
    Forth Ports plc
    Lloyds TSB Scotland
    National Galleries of Scotland
    Powderhall Bronze
    The Rendezvous Gallery
    The Scottish Gallery
    Thomson Bethune

Supporters of the ESW Capital Development, completed in 2012

  • Brian & Dawn Allison
    Elaine Allison
    Adrian Barr-Smith
    John Bellany
    Anne Benson
    Elizabeth Blackadder
    Michael Borland
    Malcolm Borthwick
    Cllr Deidre Brock
    William Brotherston
    The Brown Family
    Dan Brown
    John Brown
    Lucy Brown
    Lady Bute
    Vincent Butler
    John Byrne
    Joyce Cairns
    Marion Caldwell QC
    James Castle
    Doug Cocker
    Tara Cooper
    Lynn Cowan
    Victoria Crowe
    Nancy Curran
    Richard Demarco
    George Donald
    Liz Douglas
    Mary Drummond
    Donald Ede
    Susan Elsley & Richard Hope
    Prof. Brian Falconbridge
    Professor Gareth Fisher
    Gill Foster
    Alexander Fraser
    S. Galbraith
    Andrea Geile
    Maggie & Roddy Glen
    Dorothy & Bruce Graham
    Ian & Jane Gregg
    Mrs F. Grierson Bess & Andrew Guest
    Fiona & Simon Guest
    Rocca Gutteridge
    Tom Gutteridge
    Lynne Halfpenny
    Douglas & Matilda Hall
    Robert Handley
    Dr Pamela Harper
    Professor Jake Harvey
    Jeanette Harris
    Ron Haselden
  • Jenny Haslam
    Alex Hetherington
    Maureen Hodge
    John Houston
    Ian Howard
    Matt Hulse
    Ramsay Imlach
    Lynn Ive
    Marilyn Jeffcoat
    Irene Kernan
    Eileen Kerr
    Andrew Kinghorn
    Jack Knox
    Baroness Linklater
    Chad McCail
    Murdo Macdonald
    Isabel McCallum
    Colin Macfadyen
    Lord Macfarlane of Bearsden
    Shelia Mackay
    Peter McGowan
    Ian McKenzie Smith
    Prof. Will Maclean MBE
    David Michie
    Gilbert Milne
    Gordon Mitchell
    Sandy Moffat
    John Mooney
    Glen Onwin
    Marios Papantoniou
    Charlotte Paradise
    David & Tanya Parker Toby Paterson
    Fiona Pearson
    Frank Pottinger
    Frances Priest
    Barbara Rae
    Sir Lewis Robertson CBE FRSE
    Friends of the Royal Scottish Academy
    Professor Bill Scott
    Daljit Singh
    Helen Smailes
    Michael Snowden
    Dawn Storey
    Diana Sykes
    Ben & Jill Tindall
    D. Truman
    Jill Turnbull
    Christopher Wagstaffe
    Frances Walker
    Petra Whitelaw
    Adrian Wiszniewski

Thank you also to all Edinburgh Sculpture Workshop’s members and to the many generous donors who wish to remain anonymous.

Schools Programme Funders

Creative Scotland
The Golsoncott Foundation
The Robertson Trust
Trusthouse Charitable Foundation

Programme Funders

The Binks Trust
Stevenston Trust
Morton Charitable Trust